The Clean Program

CP
I’m sure that a lot of you have felt like I did after the holidays: disgusting.  Months of binge eating and drinking finally caught up to me and were making me tired, bloated, fat and achy.  Even though I was still working out fairly regularly, my jeans were getting tighter and I just didn’t feel good.  I knew I had to do something, but didn’t know what to do or where to start.
I came across the The Clean Program (CP) by Dr. Alejandro Junger one night at Barnes & Noble after a boozy dinner with my boyfriend Mark.  I wandered over to the diet and health section and started perusing the shelf when this one book stood out.  I remember seeing it before and hearing about how Gwyenth Paltrow was an advocate of it, and I figured if it was good enough for Gwyenth it’d be good enough for me as well, so I bought it.  Truth be told, that when I woke up the next morning I had forgotten that I had even bought it until I saw the bag on the kitchen table. My head was spinning and pounding from my martinis and limoncello from the night before, my stomach was turning, and I had slept like, and felt like crap yet again.  There was no better time to pick up this book than at that exact moment.
The CP was designed by Dr. Junger as a result of his own health issues that arose from living a busy lifestyle and not eating well, and searching for a solution that didn’t involve drugs.  He integrated both Eastern and Western medicine philosophies and practices into this program and his basic philosophy is that if you eliminate toxic and harmful foods from your diet and give it the right food and supplements that it needs, the body will be able to detoxify in order to heal itself and be truly healthy.
It’s a 21 day program that’s really easy to follow.  Have a shake for breakfast, supplements throughout the day, a clean lunch consisting of the clean approved foods, a shake or soup for dinner, and snacks in-between if needed.  Give yourself 12 hours between dinner and breakfast to allow your body to detox, and try to do some sort of light exercise daily if you can.  During the 21 days, you exclude alcohol, dairy, processed sugar, caffeine, beef, pork, bread, soy, corn, tomatoes, potatoes, bananas,  oranges and a few other things.  After the 21 days, you slowly reintroduce the foods that have been excluded in order to see how your body reacts to them, and how they effect you.  So you must be asking yourself, what is there left to eat?! Trust me, I felt the same way and didn’t think that there was going to be anyway that I could give up my daily chocolate, wine, carbs, butter or coffee for a single day, let alone 21 days.  But I had to.  I couldn’t go another day feeling the way I was feeling, and needed to change so I started the CP the next week.
I’m on my 11th day and can’t believe how much better I feel in such a short amount of time.  I’ve been sleeping better than ever before, my headaches are gone, my digestion is better, I haven’t had a single bout of acid reflux, my energy is through the roof, and my cravings for all of things that I’ve eliminated from my diet are almost gone completely.  I really can’t say enough about this book, or the program and really urge any of you that are looking to feel and look your best to try this out!!  21 days is a long time, I know, so if you can’t do the full 21 days there’s a lot of other options that you can do to get amazing benefits, so don’t be discouraged or dismiss this if you can’t commit to the 21 days quite yet.  Gradually work your way up to it, and check out the CP website for more information and options, or check out the book.  I’ll be posting more tips and suggestions on my experience with it, and hope that you guys get inspired to get so fresh and so clean too!
 
Leave a Reply

