Weekend Getaways

I’m a big believer of taking time off and getting away whenever I can.  In an ideal world I’d be jetting off to some fabulous location for at least a week every month, but in an ideal world that’s just not going to happen.  With work, family, personal obligations, and money restraints it’s hard to get away as often, or as long as I’d like to, but I really do feel that it’s important to get away as often as I can.  We get so stuck in our routines and our daily obligations, that weeks, months and even years go by without taking a much needed and deserved getaway.  We need these breaks to regroup, relax and just take a break from the monotony and stress of our daily lives and routines.

The thought of having just one or two long vacations a year just isn’t enough for me, so I try to do as many little weekend getaways as I can throughout the year as well.  This weekend was a great example.  One of my best friends from college asked me to be her son’s godmother and the baptism was going to be held up in Los Angeles.  Living in San Diego, I could have easily just driven up for the day but I decided to make a weekend out of it.  With Valentine’s Day right around the corner, I decided to get tickets to the Anaheim Ducks vs. LA Kings hockey game for Mark (he’s a hockey fanatic) for Saturday night in Orange County, and booked us a hotel as well.  Needless to say, we had a great time! We headed up to Newport on Saturday morning and checked into our hotel, went to Fashion Island to shop and to one of our favorite restaurants for lunch, went to the game that night, and headed up to the baptism on Sunday morning.  We watched the Super Bowl at our friend’s house and drove home that night.  It was a quick little trip, but after a long week the week before, it was just the getaway and recharge that we both needed.  It doesn’t have to be an exotic location, or somewhere that you’ve never been – just get out and go somewhere. Go with your significant other, your friend, family member or just go by yourself. The important thing is to just do it as much as you can, because you deserve it!

You can’t tell, but that’s the ice rink behind us 
 
One comment

Leave a Reply

