Best Natural Diuretic: Hawthorn Berry

I don’t know about you, but the hot and humid weather make me retain water like crazy.  We’ve been having a heat/humidity wave in San Diego the last couple of weeks and I definitely feel and see it in my body.  I’ve retained so much water that I’ve seen my weight go up and am feeling bloated, puffy, swollen and even my clothes are not fitting the way that they’re supposed to.  I’m drinking plenty of water, working out (cardio and hot yoga), eating a variety of diuretic foods, and have been eating clean for the most part but nothing has helped to reduce the bloat and uncomfortable feeling in my body.

I tried an over the counter diuretic but felt no relief from it, so I went to Whole Foods in an attempt to find a natural supplement and they recommended trying Hawthorn Berry.  Hawthorn supplements contain antioxidants, and are used to treat many medical conditions including heart failure, high cholesterol, regulating blood pressure, aid in digestive problems, improve the circulatory system, lower anxiety and more.  When it comes to it’s diuretic properties, Hawthorn helps to release excess sodium from your body in an attempt to balance the water/sodium ratio of your body.  It’s recommended that you take between 160 to 1,800 mgs/day.  I’ve been taking 3 capsules daily, and after one day I noticed a major difference in the water retention in my body, was peeing more, and the few pounds that I had put on over the last couple of weeks melted away.

Water retention can be caused by certain medical/health conditions or from certain medications, so if that’s the case, you might want to talk to your doctor before trying anything.  If you’re looking for foods that are natural diuretics some are:  watermelon, cucumber, asparagus, beets, celery, parsley, watercress,  onions, garlic, cranberry juice or dandelion tea, but I definitely recommend you try out the Hawthorn Berry supplements as well if none of these foods are helping, and you can find it at most health food or vitamin stores.

 

2 comments

  1. Highly recommend the Nutrigold Hawthorn Gold (European Pharma Grade) (Clinically-proven), 300 mg, 120 veg. capsules (Amazon). Great for heart function and yes, a mild diuretic. Very safe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

