Expecting Better: The Best Pregnancy Book

EB

I’m going to be totally honest – I’ve only read one pregnancy book during my pregnancy.  Yes, that’s right, ONE.  With all the pregnancy books out there, I was so confused on what to read, how much to read and was having major anxiety trying to sort through all the pregnancy literature out there when my pregnant friend recommended “Expecting Better” by Emily Oster.  I couldn’t be more grateful for that recommendation and couldn’t recommend it enough to women who want to get pregnant, or are currently pregnant.

Like many pregnant women, Oster was trying to be as informed as she could about her pregnancy and the choices that she was making and how they would effect not only her, but her baby as well. Unfortunately, what she was finding was a lot of differing and misleading information from various sources that was making it confusing to know what was okay to do, and what was not.  As an economist, Oster took it upon herself to dive deeper into pregnancy-related data and information, and she took all of her research she gathered and shared it in this book in the hopes of empowering women to make more informed decisions about their bodies and taking control of their own pregnancy journey.

What I’ve found is that with pregnancy comes so much joy, but so much confusion as well.  You ask 5 different sources the same question related to pregnancy and chances are, you’re going to get 5 different answers, so how the heck are you supposed to know what you should or shouldn’t do? Thanks to Oster, she breaks it all down for you and gives you the facts and findings based on studies and data taken over years from all around the world and gives you the information in order to allow YOU to make the right decision for yourself and your pregnancy.

Some of her findings include:

  • It’s okay to have an occasional glass of wine
  • How much caffeine is safe to consume on a daily basis
  • Do you really have to avoid sushi, deli meat and raw milk cheese?  You’ll be surprised what you actually can/can’t eat
  • Tips on prenatal testing on screening
  • The truth about bed rest and if it really is necessary or helpful
  • Safety of medications and drugs during pregnancy
  • Do sex, spicy food, or tea really help start labor?
  • and much, much more!

After reading her book, I no longer felt like a kid that was being told what to do without any explanation and found that my pregnancy fears and paranoia went away and I felt empowered about my pregnancy and the decisions I was making.  Besides this book, I did download apps on my phone (What to Expect, Baby Bump and Baby Center) that give me daily and weekly information on what was happening with my baby and my body, along with other useful tips and information as well, but I really can’t encourage you mommies-to-be out there to read this book if nothing else!

Expecting Better: Why the Conventional Pregnancy Wisdom Is Wrong–and What You Really Need to Know

Leave a Reply

