Best Prenatal Vitamins

We all know that one of the most important things to be taking while (and even before you become) pregnant is a good prenatal vitamin but there are SOOOOO many options out there it’s super overwhelming to find a good one.  My doctor gave me samples of prescription prenatal vitamins, but I just thought it was weird to be getting a prescription for vitamins – I mean I get prescriptions for drugs and antibiotics, but just didn’t like the idea of getting prescription vitamins (that’s just me) and went in search of my own vitamins I could just buy myself that were prescription-free.

Because of how I was feeling during different times during my pregnancy and the different symptoms that kept coming up, I had to try out quite a few different prenatal vitamins, so I did a ton of research and tried some out and here are my picks for the best prenatal vitamins out there.  I got mine from Whole Foods, but you can get them online or at most natural health food stores as well.

ONE-A-DAY:

When you have nausea or morning sickness, the last thing you want to be doing is trying to swallow a ton of huge, nasty tasting horse pills so the one-a-day vitamins are a great option for you.  My favorites are Rainbow Light Prenatal One or Simply One Prenatal .   Both are food-based vitamins that are really easy on your stomach and provide you and your baby with all the necessary nutritional support that you need.

MULTIPLE: 

During my first trimester I was nauseous and couldn’t gulp down more than one pill at a time, but later in my pregnancy I took the Garden of Life Vitamin Code Raw Prenatal multivitamins and really liked these.  In addition to providing the essentials, they go a step further and are packed with a blend of a ton of organic fruits, veggies and a sprout blend and is specifically designed to provide immune support for both you and your baby.

DHA:

In addition to a multi-vitamin, it’s really strongly suggestted to take DHA as well because it supports the healthy development of the baby’s brain, eyes, nervous and immune systems. Nordic Naturals is the official omega-3 of the American Pregnancy Association, doesn’t have a high mercury content or toxicity to worry about, and doesn’t taste gross or fishy like other omega-3 supplements.

IMG_5438

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

